Whatever you Do…

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

—Colossians 3:17

Whatever you do. At church, of course. With other people definitely. But whatever? ‘Whatever’ in my word and actions? Yup, that’s what Paul says. Whatever. Everything.

Washing dishes, walking the dog, wiping the counter after your little brother spilled his milk…again. Whatever.

Reading a book, running outside to dance in the rain, raking the fall leaves. Whatever.

Even the vacuuming, the chores, talking on the phone, sending an email. Everything is included in whatever. And we are supposed to do it all for our Saviour and Lord.

Jesus doesn’t just ask to be remembered at prayer time, or to receive a mumbled thanks before a meal. He isn’t happy with being stuffed into the ‘Sunday’ corner of our lives. No, he demands it all.

The beautiful thing is that this is not drudgery. When Christ lifted up humanity by becoming a human Himself, he did these things. He had younger siblings. He was obedient to his parents. He likely helped his father, who was a carpenter. He knows work, and He redeemed it, just like every other aspect of our lives.

Whatever we do for God, from serving one of His own who doesn’t have enough to eat or feeding the horses at chore time, turns into praise to God. When we do what He has given us to do, He is honoured and glorified in our lives.

That is how it is supposed to be.

But how does one praise God with a potato peeler in one hand and task after task looming while the baby screams and you just heard the horses fighting outside and Lou looks like he got hurt?

Honestly, I don’t know. Every day I ask God for his mercy and grace to remind me of His call to praise him with everything I do. I don’t make it, and I often forget the wonderful grace He has given to me. But each time He recalls me, I have a choice.

I could say, ‘thanks for brining me back to You,’ and change my attitude, or I can ignore Him and go on sinning.

Whatever is big, but it isn’t bigger than the God I serve. When I chose to follow again, I give my King praise and store up my treasure in Heaven.

The Horsegentler

Leave a Reply

