Have New Parents by Friday

I think that I am not alone in occasionally finding that I am annoyed by those who love me most. In my case, this is my parents. As my situation changes, so will these annoyances, and I believe that what I have discovered will apply to all situations like this.

Friday is 4 days away, counting today. It’s not much time to turn the relationship around, so we had better begin directly.

Tuesday

1. Pray for your parents (or other annoying party) and for your relationship to them. It is too important to simply let fall, and if you don’t recognize that yet, pray that God will help you to see the truth about the relationship. Remember that all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, both you and the party you wish to change.

2. Do your part in the relationship. In my case, this has been faithfully doing what they require of me or ask me to do, as this is what is most expedient in proving my love for them.

Wednesday

1. Pray again. If God has already begun changing your thoughts and feelings, ask Him to show you what you can do and to take care of the rest Himself. If not, continue praying as before.

And will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones who cry out to Him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly. (Luke 18:7-8)

2. Do your part in the relationship as before, but also add one unexpected act of willing service. If it is not noticed like you hoped, don’t draw attention to it. God noticed.

Thursday

1. Pray some more. It hurts when our closest friends or family don’t notice our attempts and tries to restore relationship, but God understands that and will provide much needed support.

2. Continue to be faithful to your end of the bargain. Instead of adding only one act of willing service, look during the entire day for various things you can do or say and do them. Aim for at least three. They don’t have to be huge and take up all of your time, but time has to be spent, and spending it on valuable people is better than most time occupations.

Friday

1. Pray.

2. You’ve arrived! Keep doing these things. The Lord commands us to love and serve one another, and He said that for a reason.

But I’ll bet that it isn’t your parents or friend that has changed. It’s you.

In continued service,

The Horsegentler

Leave a Reply

